Tags

, , ,

I remember living in Colorado anxiously counting down the minutes until Matthew Mayfield released his first EP, The Fire, on Amazon.com. It was torture. I didn’t have internet  and had to wait five excrutiating days until I could get to an internet cafe to purchase the EP on my laptop.

It was the fall of 2008, and I had stumbled upon Matthew’s MySpace page a few months before. I had clicked on the song, Element, at the top of his MySpace playlist, and the instant the closing chords faded into silence I knew it was destiny: Matthew Mayfield was meant to be one of my favorite artists.

This past April, Matthew released his first LP, Now You’re Free, to critical acclaim. He’s teamed up with fellow musicians John Paul White and Joy Williams from the Civil Wars for two tracks (Fire Escape, and Can’t Change My Mind) and Bo Rinchmet of NeedToBreathe (Ghost). Now You’re Free takes the listener on a melodic journey, Matthew’s journey, through yearning, longing, missing, and ultimately, hope.

Now You’re Free, is everything I want it to be,” says Mayfield. ” Honest, anthemic and diverse.  The songs are full of hope, which in some ways is very new to me.  They are the sound of a fresh start.”

Matthew continues, “I’m excited about attempting to change something with this record…Music has changed everything for me.  I want to be a part of that for other people.  So here I am…A wise man once sang, ‘I know it’s only rock n roll, but I like it.’ I hope you do too.”-MM


Purchase Matthew Mayfield’s extensive library of music on Amazon, or download Matthew’s free sampler on NoiseTrade. Watch the official music video for Now You’re Free.

Need more Matthew? Watch him cover Fix You by Coldplay, Toxic by Britney Spears, Paranoid Android by Radiohead, and Where The Streets Have No Name by U2 to tide you over until his next release.