Tags

, , , , , ,

I had a whole Saturday to myself. So what did I do? I went for a walk down the West side of Manhattan to see what I could find. As meandered downtown towards the Highline Park, I stumbled upon the infamous NYC Doughnut Plant (23rd Street between 7th and 8th Ave) next to Hotel Chelsea. The original Doughnut Plant is on Grand Street between Essex and Norfolk on the Lower East Side.

I asked the lady at the register to pick out two doughnuts for me to buy. She choose the Tres Leche (a ring of vanilla cake with creamy vanilla custard) and PB&J (a square, peanut butter glazed doughnut with blackberry jelly filling). I pulled out my cash to pay for the food, thanked her, and continued on my adventure. Moments later my pocket buzzed, I slid my phone out, and heard a familiar voice on the other end.

“Hi! I’m off work early. Where are you? Can we meet up?” It was my sister! I met her in SoHo, bearing the delicious gifts. She opened the brown paper bag, took the doughnuts out, and together, we savored each one. They were incredible; not too cake-y, but light, moist, and oh-so-good.

I think it’s more fun to eat sweet treats with people you love.

Doughnut Plant doughnuts are featured at many purveyors, including Stumptown Coffee the Ace Hotel (29th Street between Broadway and 5th Ave) and B Cafe in Bloomingdales (59th Street & Lexington Ave).