Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m new to gelato. I’ve tried it once before with my cousins in St. Louis, but it’s been years since I’ve had it, that is, until this weekend.

I caught up with my friend Sam for lunch underneath a shady umbrella at The Diner in the Meatpacking District. After we ate we moseyed over to the High Line to walk around for a while. It was a warm day, in the mid-80’s, and we were craving something cool and sweet when we walked passed L’Arte del Gelato on the path ahead of us.

We almost drooled as we read over the day’s flavors: Caffe, Menta Cioccolato, Vaniglia del Madagascar, Nocciola de Langhe, and Stracciatella. A scoop of any of these flavors served on a fresh cone sounded divine. We ordered the gelato even though it was kinda pricy, $3 for a small, single scoop, and $5 for two of the small scoops. I must say, this gelato and NYC experience was worth it. Sam and I each enjoyed a scoop of the Menta Cioccolato (Mint Chocolate) and then walked north through the new portion of the High Line with our tasty treats.

Sam enjoying her gelato on the High Line

Cut the cone and it's deliciously gluten-free!

 

NYC Locations:

High Line: (roughly 14th street)
Seasonal Hours

Chelsea Market: 75 Ninth Avenue
Monday-Sat: 11am-9pm Sunday: 11am-8pm

West Village: 75 Seventh Avenue South
Sunday-Thurs: 11am-12pm Friday-Sun: 11am-1am

Lincoln Center Plaza: (May-August) Columbus Avenue
Monday-Sat: 11am-11pm Sunday: 11am-10pm