Tags

, , , , , ,

During my first year in NYC, I discovered a gem called Mud on the North side of 9th St. between 1st and 2nd Avenues. Although Mud was a ways from my apartment, it became a favorite coffee spot. Mud has a great ambiance; candlelit rooms with bright orange and brick walls facilitate intimate conversation, and a bevy of beverages and tempting desserts make the experience cozy. It’d been at least a year since I’d made the trek to Mud, so I decided it was high time to return.

My foodie friends are crazy about Mud’s Chai Lattes, so this visit, I decided to give one a try. It wasn’t fantastic, a little too bland for my taste, but the texture was so smooth! The baristas at Mud know how to froth milk. As would be expected, the lattes are fabulous, but the thick-as-mud coffee is what really drives the crowds into Mud.

Prices: $2.50 for a huge cup of coffee, food starts at $5, and brunch is $15.  Keep in mind, this place is CASH ONLY.

Hours: 8am-12pm rain or shine. Mud is only closed on Christmas day.

Food: There’s a menu for Breakfast, Brunch, and Lunch, but don’t forget the dessert!

Did you know? Mud has great wine & beer.

Mud TRUCK: is parked on the side of the street in Astor Place (4th Ave & 8th St) ready to offer you a small selection of the Mud coffee drinks and menu.

Tip: I like to go to Mud in the evening, when it’s not super busy, between 9pm-12am.