Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was 11:59 AM and my stomach was growling uncontrollably. My 7AM shift was almost over and I needed food-now. At least, that’s what my body was telling me.  So my co-worker, Leah-a vivacious actress with fabulous curly, red hair-and I decided to catch up and get food together. We walked down the hallway of the Chelsea Market and saw Friedman’s Lunch on our right. I’d heard of Friedman’s a few times over my three years in NYC. It’s always crowded, so why not try it out?

I ordered an Adobo salad and Leah ordered the BLAT-bacon, lettuce, avocado, and tomato sandwich. Our food quickly came to our table and its presentation was beautiful.

Price: Anywhere from a bowl of soup for $6 at lunch, to a $21 plate of short ribs.

Location: towards the back of the Chelsea Market (15th and 9th). Take the ACE to 14th Street, exit at W 15th street and walk one avenue west to the Market.

Hours: Mon-Fri 8 am – 9 pm, Sat 10 am – 9 pm, Sun 10 am – 7 pm

Tip: If you’re gluten free, there are a TON of delicious options for you. Don’t worry about getting the salad…again. You can spice your diet up a bit at Friedman’s. Also, don’t forget to glance at the selection of wine & beer to pair with your entree.

Overall Opinion: The food is very tasty; it’s healthy and light, but a it’s a little too pricy for a college student like me. When I have a greater income I’ll gladly come here, but until then if I’m going to spend $15 on a plate of food, I’d rather throw down an extra $5 for something at the Standard.

What’s next on my Meatpacking to-do list? The Standard Grill just a few blocks south of the Chelsea Market on Washington Street.

Check out other Chelsea Market favorites: Fat Witch & 9th Street Espresso.