Tags

, , , , ,

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

I’m still suffering from a Turkey coma, but I am thankful to have had the best Thanksgiving yet. My family has been planing a NYC Thanksgiving since I was ten, and this year, we were determined to make it happen. I remember sitting with my sister and my cousin dreaming about our perfect Thanksgiving in NYC.  Eleven years later, we crossed it off our bucket list. I knew this Thanksgiving wouldn’t be absolutely perfect because my cousin, Anna, was off at Medical school in England, but we were going to do our best to make some great memories.

The party began on Wednesday night at the Museum of Natural History, where we watched the balloons for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade inflate with a million other tourists eager to see the ginormous balloons for themselves.

Our hands, ears, and noses were tingling with cold. It was freezing! We met Mayor Bloomberg (!!) then rushed back to my aunt and uncle’s apartment at Central Park South to thaw out and relax.

All of a sudden, a knock came from the shiny black, wooden front door. “Oh, it must be the landlady!” Aunt Karen exclaimed with a sly smile. I was curious, why would the landlady come by the apartment at 11PM? Immediately I heard a familiar voice from around the corner laughing and saying, “Surprise!”

Unbeknownst to anyone but Aunt Karen, my cousin Anna found a last-minute deal on a plane ticket from Newcastle to NYC. She was here to celebrate the holiday with us! I stared at her speechless and in disbelief. Anna had come to NYC!

At 8AM Thursday Morning (Thanksgiving Day!), my entire family (+ANNA!) met at 6th Avenue to watch the parade from my 23rd floor apartment. Then we took a walk uptown, had a huge dinner with our family and friends, then took a stroll through Central Park and up and down 5th Avenue to observe the beautiful Christmas decorations and lights in the department store windows.

I am so thankful for this season of life. I am blessed to have my family together for the holiday. I’m thankful for their love, sacrifice, and friendship. I can’t express my gratitude for the past two days and I am thankful to have another two days to spend with them! Even more, I’m thankful for my Heavenly Father and his abundant goodness.

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good
His steadfast love endures forever!”
-Psalm 107:1

Yay for Thanksgiving!