Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On soggy, wet days, I find myself heading uptown, umbrella in hand, goloshes on my feet, and rainjacket zipped up to my neck. I love the rain, and I love spending rainy days reading books and enjoying beautiful things at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Somedays I like to go to the Frick Museum (pay what you want admission on Sunday mornings from 11AM-1PM!), but today, I think I’ll go uptown and finish my reading for class at the MET.

How do I get to the MET? Walk up 5th Ave to 82nd street. Or, take the 6 Train to 77th street, exit NW, and walk West towards Park to 5th Ave and North 5 blocks.

Tip? Admission is by suggested donation, which means you don’t have to pay the suggested $25 entrance fee, you could pay $1 or $100 instead if you feel like it.

Hours: Tue-Thu and Sun, 9:30am-5:15pm; Fri-Sat, 9:30am-8:45pm; Mon, closed

Ah there is so much to see! What must I make sure not to miss? The Met gives you some suggested itineraries online here. Here’s Ruthie Bird’s biased top 10:

1. The annual Christmas Tree and Neapolitan Baroque Creche (through January 8) is worth a visit.
2. The Temple of Dendur in the Slckler Wing
3. Vincent VanGogh’s Wheat Field with Cypresses
4. The dining room from Kirtlington Park, Oxfordshire in European Decorative Arts
5. Rembrandt’s Aristotle with a Bust of Homer
6. Jackson Pollock’s Number 28
7. Degas’ The Rehearsal of the Dance On State
8. Greek Terracotta Stamnos Jar
9. Vermeer, Young Woman with a Water Pitcher
10. Arms and Armor Gallery

When the weather is better, visit the Cloisters too!