Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As a young professional in NYC, I’m not quite rubbing my pennies together, however living in the city with an entry level salary can be rough. If you’re creative, having weekend full of fun doesn’t have to cost a lot of money-and living on a budget won’t feel like the worst thing that could happen to you. It’s fun to wander the city and look for inexpensive things to enjoy. This President’s Day weekend, I decided to give myself a challenge: chronicle my city adventures with the Instagram app on my iPhone and only spend $30. This is what I’ve been up to:

A trip to the NYPL with my sister (free!):

A beautiful early morning run from Harlem down the length of Riverside Park (there is so much history here!) then to Le Pain Quotidien at the Mineral Springs Pavilion in the middle of Central Park for a glass of water and $2 cup of coffee.

A Saturday morning matinee in Brooklyn with my friend Sam for $6 (The Artist anyone??), then a trip to the Prospect Park farmer’s market for snacks (doughnuts, cider, and apples all for $5)

I’ve dedicated this afternoon to reading, writing, and catching up with friends at Sumptown Coffee at the Ace Hotel ($4 for a cappuccino).

Now, I’m off to grab a late lunch with a friend at No. 7 subs ($9) next to Opening Ceremony and John Dory’s at the Ace Hotel. After church tonight, I’ll grab a glass of wine with another friend at OST on the Lower East Side during happy hour ($4 glass of wine from 4-8p). All-in-all, this weekend will only cost $30! See? Living in NYC doesn’t have to be expensive at all!