Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love spending three hours on a Friday night after a long day at work doing something I really enjoy, and ending the evening feeling a healthy tired-not an exhaustion that takes the whole weekend to cure. Sorry Katy Perry, NOT this.

This Friday Night, my college roommate Virginia and I are heading over to the MOMA for a handful of reasons:

  1. It’s SO close to my office
  2. A new photography exhibit opened up two weeks ago that I’m dyyyying to see
  3. It’s free on Friday nights after 5p

Need I say more?

Something I love about NYC is that many museums here (the MET, Natural History, etc) have a “suggested donation” that the native New Yorker knows really means pay whatever you wish. If there isn’t a suggested donation next to the price, usually there are specific days and times that visitors can pay whatever they’d wish. At the Guggenheim you can pay what you want to pay on Saturday evenings from 5:45 until close (8:45-the last ticket is sold at 7:30), at the Frick it’s Sunday mornings from 11a until 1p. The Moma, however, is absolutely FREE on Friday nights. Seriously. My college economics professor always told us that there was no such thing as a free lunch, but I think free Friday’s at the Moma come pretty close.

Let’s face it, if you’re not all into modern art the museum is pretty weird. It’s cool, but ropes with knots tied on it and straws glued together to make a dollhouse remind me more of the arts and crafts projects the kid’s I babysit make, but there are some incredible galleries with works of art that you are bound to recognize: Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Starry Night (my most favorite painting of ALL time!!!!!), Picasso’s dancers, Jackson Pollock’s abstracts, Andy Warhol’s Campbell Soup, and the list goes on.

The MoMa is worth a visit, especially on Friday night’s when it’s free. Although the museum closes at 8p on Friday (5:30p every other day), don’t worry about not having enough time to see everything.; it’s the perfect amount of time.  Even the least cultured of your crew won’t feel overwhelmed or exhausted by the art. The only downside to going on a Friday night is that it’s completely crowded because it is free, so expect a winding line and long wait outside.

Oh! If you go to the museum, stop by the café…they serve La Columbe coffee!