Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes you just need a break. Over the past few weeks I’ve been getting used to a new job that’s completely different from anything I’ve ever done before, people have been moving out of and moving into my Harlem apartment, and visitors have been coming and going like NYC is going out of style. It’s a lot of fun, but when you’re an introvert like me, you need some space and some quiet. I’ve yet to find absolute quiet outside the doors of a church (Old St. Patrick’s), but my second best option is a coffee shop. It’s a great place to sit, think, and enjoy my favorite comfort: a piping-hot black cup of coffee.  Some days, a coffee shop, good book, and journal are better than anything the doctor could prescribe.   That brings me to Jack’s Stir Brew Coffee in the West Village, NYC. I love this place!

The brick wall to the left is adorned with “I’m almost NOT crazy” quote that hangs on an antique chalk board. Black and white portraits cover the right wall. The mood is set with a mix of easy listening, the Beatles, Motown, and smooth indie music. Perfect.

Okay, so what is the stir coffee technique and why is it better than others? The grounds are constantly being mixed (errr, “stirred”) with the hot water while the coffee is brewing. This is supposed to give the coffee a full-bodied and less-acidic taste. I was impressed; my black coffee was very smooth and bold-just as Jack advertised.

Price? Big coffee is 2.75, the specialty chocolate chip cookies are $1, and  drinks are between $3-5.

What should I try? A Dirty Harry, Mad Max, or Honey Macchiato however, Jack is famous for his stir brew, juice, and milk. There are three pounds of produce in every bottle of cold press juice, which means you need to order the apple lemon ginger to take home even if you don’t want to drink it right away. If you don’t get any of the three options above, you’re crazy. Pick up a cherry almond or apple walnut scone or whoopie pie to go along with your drink. There are bagels, muffics, and croissant’s too if you like those best.

Cash only? Yup. Better bring some cash, this place is gooood.

Wifi: Nope

3 locations: near the South Street Seaport, West Village, and in East Hampton.