Tags

, , , , , ,

Eynsham VillageAs most Americans rush to the TV tonight to watch the Collegiate National Championship football game, I pack my single suitcase and prepare for an early morning. Tomorrow we move into our flats at Oxford! I can’t wait to make a bit of a home-at least for a few months. We’ve had an incredible week diving into Psalm 32, Genesis 1-3, 12, 26, and 37, the Two Tasks by both of the Malik’s, and endless discussions of systematic theology, morality, the purpose of the law, and to top it off, a conversation this morning with Theodore Dalrymple (one of my new found favorite authors) for our worldview intensive.  We’re thinking more clearly than we have before, and I think we’re learning-slowly but surely-how to ask questions, not just good questions, but important, the right questions; questions with answers that influence our lives and change the way we interact with and respond to other people, policies, and ideas.

This afternoon Kevin told us he desires to do more than ascribe the overused term ‘change the world’ as his goal for our class.  He seeks to train us to be ‘faithful and thoughtful, no matter where we go.’ I think this is a lofty goal, and I aspire to be faithful and thoughtful, especially as I begin my tutorials next week.

My ‘inner planner’ is frustrated, since my two tutorials have not been set yet and we are a week away from class. Please pray for me that I’ll be able to get a tutor who is willing to teach me International Development, as this is a passion of mine, and sure would come in handy for both the NATO and IJM fellowships I’ve applied for. Whatever happens, I know that God works out all things for my good and for His glory. He’s been too good to me. I refuse to be discouraged by the fact that I may not get to take the classes I’d like to take while I’m at Oxford and will trust that He knows best…but I won’t go down without a fight!

I am thankful for the friendship I’ve found so far within our little Summit Oxford Community.  We have a fantastic group of ambitious men and women who refuse to stop thinking and talking about the great ideas that shape the world (even outside of class, even all-day Sunday). Katie and I talked about this idea last night: attending to Summit is so important because it augments your faith while teaching you how to defend your Christian Worldview, encouraging you to enter into the “great conversation,” inspiring you to do more, and edifying you the sheer caliber of people within the community.

I’m also thankful for Kevin and Angela Bywayter. They’ve shared their awesome children with us and have served us endlessly this week.  Even more, I am thankful for the Ferrier family who have “put us up” in their home these six days. They have showed us what true hospitality looks like. One day, I hope to open my home and be as welcoming to other as they have been to me!

Molly loves to carry Eddie the cat around, to Eddie’s dismay.

Cheerio!

“For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever.”
-Ephesians 3:15-21