The Radcliffe Camera

The Radcliffe Camera

It’s Friday and I’ve come to the end of the first week of tutorials. All in all it’s been a roller coaster of joy, excitement, and grief. I think the next 7 weeks of Hilary term are going to feel like 7 straight weeks of finals-and I’m excited about that. I’ve re-discovered a love for John Locke and his Essays on Natural Law and Understanding (let’s talk Religious Liberty, Philology, and Civil Society), settled into my flat at Venneit Close for the most part (now I just need to do something with the stark white walls), and am learning more about literature than I could have dreamed of with my C.S. Lewis tutorial. Phew. It’s a whirlwind.

I am spoiled to be here in England. It’s an honor and a blessing to have the opportunity to study at Oxford and to be a part of the Summit Community.  New College is a gorgeous place too!

New College Spires

IMG_8899

IMG_8942IMG_8995

IMG_9051Last weekend I explored London with my sister, Krista (she was in London-town for work). There’s a special bond between sisters, especially since it’s just the two of us, and we had the most amazing time. She left at 5am on Sunday morning, so I wandered all over the city until the coffee shops opened up for the day (around 7:30am-this NYC girl is not used to things opening so late and closing so early!). So, I watched the “sunrise” over Big Ben down by Westminster Abbey and Parliament while I waited. It was perfectly beautiful. I was amazed to find I was only one of a handful of people up and about.

IMG_9235

IMG_9244

IMG_9225

IMG_9313

IMG_9261

A man worthy of respect.

IMG_9270

IMG_9325 IMG_9333 IMG_9364 IMG_9375 IMG_9391

Unfortunately, the rest of my photos won’t upload onto WordPress! I’ll get them up as soon as I can.

Cheerio.