Tags

, ,

This place has all sorts of joy.

So much joy it tingles to the very tips of your fingers and toes almost as if they’re thawing out after hours in the freezing snow. It’s satisfying yet uncomfortable-like that sharp thawing pain-only because it’s foreign, but it’s necessary. This deep-seated joy marks our community at Oxford.

We are here. We want to be here. We are humbled and in awe of the people we’ve met, places we’ve been, and everything we’re learning. I think this joy is best named contentment. There’s a correlation between joy and contentment that I’ve barely begun to understand. Our flats may not be perfect, we may barely have enough money to get through the week, our tutorials may be overwhelming, and we may be homesick, but we are blessed. And we know it. We are grateful, not in the canned say-thank-you-after-you-get-a-birthday-present sort of way, but with genuine, raw gratitude that leads to contentment and joy. What a gift!

Isn’t Oxford gorgeous? Living here still feels like a dream:

IMG_6176 IMG_6178

IMG_6112 IMG_6115
IMG_6307IMG_6300 IMG_6302IMG_6303Oxford look like Narnia when she’s covered with a blanket of snow. Unfortunately, the snow melted a few days ago, but it left us with a gift- tulips and daffodils exploding all over the ground!

My favorite parts of the week have been Skype sessions with my two incredible parents. I’m blessed by them and am thankful for their continued encouragement and support during this unconventional adventure to Oxford.

Please continue to pray for me as I push through my tutorials. I’ve never loved school as much as I do now. It’s an honor to study Religious Liberty with Dr. Tudor Jones and C.S. Lewis/Philology with Dr. Michael Ward. Can’t wait to share what I’ve learned with you all!

I’ve received word from the International Justice Mission about continuing the interview process for a Fellowship position with them this September. In addition, I’m in the process of applying for a Fellowship position with the John Jay Institute in Philadelphia, which would begin in September as well. I’m confident the Lord will provide and will guide my future steps as He has the past.

“Now unto him who is able to do far more abundantly than all we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”
-Ephesians 3:20-21