Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Each city has its own code of conduct that goes deeper than neighborhood slang, driving idiosyncraseis, or favorite sandwich. After living in five large cities in three years, I know full-well this especially is true of New Yorkers. Why did I get yelled at for standing on the left side of the escalator? How can I tell what the light on top of the yellow cab means? How do I successfully eat a slice of pizza while en-route to wherever it is I am going? The questions seem endless, but now – thanks to Nathan Pyle – they have been answered.

In his newly released book NYC Basic Tips and Etiquettewriter and artist Nathan W. Pyle lucidly positivizes the unwritten rules of the largest city in America in GIF and written form. Nathan has lived in NYC since 2008 and has picked up on the social subtleties of the city that never sleeps. He illumines the basics of NYC life in simple black-and-white images that are sure to make you chuckle and exclaim a knowing “ah-ha!” with every page:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

 

Where can I buy it? You can find the 136-tip book in virtually any decent NYC bookstore, on Amazon, and from Barnes & Noble.

$$? A bargain at $10!

Should I? Yes, you do need this delightful little book. I have bought three copies already.

Image